Mailing Address:

Urbandale Activities Department

7111 Aurora Avenue

Urbandale, IA 50322


Phone:  515-457-6945

Fax: 515-457-6949


Activities Administration

Name Title Phone Email
William Watson Director of Activities and Community Education 515-457-6947 william.watson@j-hawks.com
Josh Jacobs Associate Athletic Director 515-457-6946 josh.jacobs@j-hawks.com
Andrew Olson Activities Assistant 515-457-6945 andrew.olson@j-hawks.com
Andy Hoverson Stadium / PAC Manager 515-457-6943 andy.hoverson@j-hawks.com

High School Administration

Name Title Phone Email
Brian Coppess High School Principal 515-457-6802 coppessb@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Tim Carver Assistant High School Principal 515-457-6803 carvert@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Dania Wilson Assistant High School Principal 515-457-6802 wilsond@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Middle School Administration

Name Title Phone Email
Loren DeKruyf Middle School Principal 515-457-6607 dekruyfl@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Brittnie Coveney Assistant Middle School Principal 515-457-6792 coveneyb@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Athletic Trainer

Name Title Phone Email
Scott Fleagle Athletic Trainer 515-457-6750 scott.fleagle@j-hawks.com

High School Band Directors

Name Title Phone Email
Myron Peterson Head Band Director 515-457-6871 petersonm@urbandaleschools.com
Nick Rueckert Assistant Band Director (515) 457-6870 rueckertn@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Band Directors

Name Title Phone Email
Daphne Monson Middle School Band Director 515-457-6645 monsond@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Nancy Schultz Middle School Band Director 515-457-6641 schultzn@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Baseball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Denny Barton Head Varsity Baseball Coach bartond@wdmcs.org
Jeremy Heinen Assistant Varsity Baseball Coach 515-457-6953 heinenj@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Adam Smith Assistant 10th Baseball Coach
Fritz Keeling 9th Grade Baseball Coach frederick.keeling@dmps.k12.ia.us
Corey Brown 9th Baseball Coach / Assistant MS Cross Country, B&G Basketball, and 7th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6681 brownc@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Boys Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Brad Bjorkgren Head Varsity Boys Basketball Coach 515-457-6979 bjorkgrenb@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Monty Willyard Assistant Varsity Boys Basketball Coach/9th Boys Golf Coach 515-457-6863 willyardm@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Pat Henkenius Head Boys & Girls Golf Coach/Head 10th Grade Boys Basketball Coach 515-457-6824 henkeniusp@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Ethan Freeman Assistant 10th Grade Boys Basketball Coach 515-979-7107 ethan.freeman@j-hawks.com
Tom Breitbach Head 9th Grade Boys Basketball Coach 515-331-1023 tbreitbach@mchsi.com
Tony Perez Assistant 9th Grade Boys Basketball Coach
Dustin Larson Assistant 9th Grade Boys Basketball Coach 515-457-5923 larsond1@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Middle School Boys Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Mark Baethke Head 8th Grade Boys&Girls Basketball Coach/Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach 515-457-6855 baethkem@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Corey Brown 9th Baseball Coach / Assistant MS Cross Country, B&G Basketball, and 7th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6681 brownc@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Lindsey Bakker Assistant 8th Grade Boys Basketball Coach/Assistant 7th Grade Football Coach 515-457-6618 bakkerl@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Girls Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Gary Birdwell Head Girls Basketball Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach 515-457-6976 birdwellg@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Bob Bagley Assistant Varsity Girls Basketball Coach 515-210-9968 robert.bagley@dmschools.org
Jenny Platts JV Girls Basketball Coach
Zach Maertens Head 9th Girls Basketball Coach 515-457-5727 maertensz@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Dani Lang Assistant 9th Grade Girls Basketball Coach

Middle School Girls Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Mark Baethke Head 8th Grade Boys&Girls Basketball Coach/Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach 515-457-6855 baethkem@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Corey Brown 9th Baseball Coach / Assistant MS Cross Country, B&G Basketball, and 7th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6681 brownc@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Boys Bowling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Chuckie Geilenfeld Head Boys & Girls Bowling Coach / 10th Baseball Coach / Assistant 7th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6831 geilenfeldc@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Scott Houser Assistant 9th Grade Football Coach/Assistant Boys & Girls Bowling Coach/Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6793 housers@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Girls Bowling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Chuckie Geilenfeld Head Boys & Girls Bowling Coach / 10th Baseball Coach / Assistant 7th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6831 geilenfeldc@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Scott Houser Assistant 9th Grade Football Coach/Assistant Boys & Girls Bowling Coach/Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6793 housers@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Cheerleading Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Kelli Zimmerman Head Cheerleading Coach 515-238-8832 kellizim@aol.com
Cassie Schulz Assistant Cheerleading Coach schulzc@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Kali Brinker Assistant Cheerleading Coach k.stumpff@hotmail.com

Boys Cross Country Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Lee Hammerand Head Boys Cross Country Coach 515-457-6901 hammerandl@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Carla Madson Assistant Boys & Girls Cross Country Coach 515-457-6670 madsonc@hotmail.com

Girls Cross Country Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Dan Davis Head Girls Cross Country Coach / Assistant Girls Track Coach 515-457-6885 davisd@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Carla Madson Assistant Boys & Girls Cross Country Coach 515-457-6670 madsonc@hotmail.com

Middle School Cross Country Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Dave White Head Girls Tennis Coach/Head MS Cross Country Coach 515-457-6832 whited@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Corey Brown 9th Baseball Coach / Assistant MS Cross Country, B&G Basketball, and 7th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6681 brownc@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Drama Directors

Name Title Phone Email
Jessica Vaught Drama Director 515-457-6945 jessica.vaught@j-hawks.com
Brandon Brockshus Assistant Drama Director

Football Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Sam Anderson Head Varsity Football Coach 515-457-6839 andersons@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Ben Luther Assistant Varsity Football Coach 515-457-6638 lutherb@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Tim TeBrink Head Boys Track Coach/Assistant Varsity Football Coach 515-457-6657 tebrinkt@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Dan Schuck Assistant Varsity Football Coach 515-490-785 dschuck@mchsi.com
William Gray Assistant Varsity Football Coach 515-208-5952 guhof2011@me.com
Tyler Perry Assistant Varsity Football Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach perry.tyler.a@principal.com
Ryan Williams Assistant Varsity Football Coach/Head 8th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6654 williamr@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Paul Peletz Assistant Varsity Football Coach Peletz10@yahoo.com
Kevin Lazard Volunteer Varsity Football Coach Lazard6@hotmail.com
Chris Brown Volunteer Varsity Football Coach
RJ Sumrall Head 10th Grade Football Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach rj.sumrall@gmail.com
Rob MacDougall Volunteer Varsity and 10th Football Coach FootballUHS@yahoo.com
Dave Hekter Volunteer Varsity and 10th Football Coach
Mark Klaus Head Wrestling Coach/Head 9th Grade Football Coach 515-457-6984 klausm@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Eric Walter Assistant 9th Grade Football Coach 515-778-5743 temjwalter@mchsi.com
Scott Houser Assistant 9th Grade Football Coach/Assistant Boys & Girls Bowling Coach/Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6793 housers@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Rod Reis Volunteer Football Coach kathiereis@mchsi.com

Middle School Football Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Steve Dannenfeldt Head 8th Football Coach 515-276-6201 steve@dannenfeldt.com
Dan Beyerink Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach 641-204-9419 dbeyerink@charlesgabus.com
Joel Jacobs Assistant 8th Football Coach / Assistant 7th Boys Track Coach jpjacobs@fouroaks.org
Craig Wederquist Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach wederquistcraig@saydel.net
Chris Christensen Head Middle School Wrestling Coach/Head 7th Grade Football Coach/Head 7th Grade Girls Track Coach 515-457-6682 christensenc@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Mike Moreno Head 7th Grade Football Coach / Assistant HS Wrestling Coach 515-457-6961 morenom@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Lindsey Bakker Assistant 8th Grade Boys Basketball Coach/Assistant 7th Grade Football Coach 515-457-6618 bakkerl@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Chad Towers Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach / Assistant MS Wrestling Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach 515-205-2423 chad.towers@dmschools.org
Michael Lewis Assistant 7th Grade Football Coach / Assistant MS Wrestling Coach lewism@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Boys Golf Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Pat Henkenius Head Boys & Girls Golf Coach/Head 10th Grade Boys Basketball Coach 515-457-6824 henkeniusp@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Monty Willyard Assistant Varsity Boys Basketball Coach/9th Boys Golf Coach 515-457-6863 willyardm@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Girls Golf Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Pat Henkenius Head Boys & Girls Golf Coach/Head 10th Grade Boys Basketball Coach 515-457-6824 henkeniusp@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Jaywalker Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Penny Luthens Head Jaywalker Coach pluthens@gmail.com
Jayme Ammann Assistant Jaywalkers Coach 515-250-5088 jaymeammann@gmail.com

Boys Soccer Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Kepler Johnson Head Boys Soccer Coach keplerj@netins.net
Michael Moon Assistant Boys Soccer Coach
Troy Moon Assistant Boys Soccer Coach
Alex Rich Assistant Soccer Coach aerich1488@gmail.com

Girls Soccer Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Jim Wright Head Girls Soccer Coach 515-473-8571 wrightjamesp@hotmail.com
Jessica Shwery Assistant Girls Soccer Coach Shives08@gmail.com
Bonnie Larson Assistant Girls Soccer Coach blarson13@juno.com
Marc Pedersen Head 9th Grade Girls Soccer Coach 515-633-4181 pedersenm@wdmcs.org

Softball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Veronica Roshek Head Softball Coach veronica.roshek@perry.k12.ia.us
Keri Sorensen Assistant Softball Coach
Anna Sokolik Assistant Softball Coach
Jon Parrott Head 9th Grade Softball Coach/Head 8th Grade Girls Track Coach/Assistant 8th Grade Volleyball Coach 515-457-6659 parrottj@urbandale@k12.ia.us

Boys Tennis Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Alan Reed Head Boys Tennis Coach 515-556-5217 tennisace10@msn.com
Steve Harper Assistant Boys Tennis Coach 515-240-4543 steveharper0324@gmail.com

Girls Tennis Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Dave White Head Girls Tennis Coach/Head MS Cross Country Coach 515-457-6832 whited@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Dania Wilson Assistant Girls Tennis Coach 515-457-6969 schulerd@urbandale.k12.ia.us

Boys Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Tim TeBrink Head Boys Track Coach/Assistant Varsity Football Coach 515-457-6657 tebrinkt@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Gary Birdwell Head Girls Basketball Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach 515-457-6976 birdwellg@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Tyler Perry Assistant Varsity Football Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach perry.tyler.a@principal.com
RJ Sumrall Head 10th Grade Football Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach rj.sumrall@gmail.com

Middle School Boys Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Ryan Williams Assistant Varsity Football Coach/Head 8th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6654 williamr@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Scott Houser Assistant 9th Grade Football Coach/Assistant Boys & Girls Bowling Coach/Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6793 housers@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Brent Tisl Assistant 8th Grade Boys Track Coach
Corey Brown 9th Baseball Coach / Assistant MS Cross Country, B&G Basketball, and 7th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6681 brownc@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Chuckie Geilenfeld Head Boys & Girls Bowling Coach / 10th Baseball Coach / Assistant 7th Boys Track Coach 515-457-6831 geilenfeldc@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Joel Jacobs Assistant 8th Football Coach / Assistant 7th Boys Track Coach jpjacobs@fouroaks.org

Girls Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Randy Hutchison Head Girls Track Coach 515-633-5957 hutchisonr@wdmcs.org
Deidra Dirth Assistant Girls Track Coach
Courtney Mottet Assistant Girls Track Coach 515-633-4172 mottetc@wdmcs.org
Trina Radske-Suchan Assistant Girls Track Coach 515-210-0720
Emily James Assistant Girls Track Coach (515) 778-6761 james.emilyann@gmail.com

Middle School Girls Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Jon Parrott Head 9th Grade Softball Coach/Head 8th Grade Girls Track Coach/Assistant 8th Grade Volleyball Coach 515-457-6659 parrottj@urbandale@k12.ia.us
Ashley Danner Head 7th Volleyball Coach/Assistant 8th Grade Girls Track Coach 515-457-6607 dannera@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Chris Christensen Head Middle School Wrestling Coach/Head 7th Grade Football Coach/Head 7th Grade Girls Track Coach 515-457-6682 christensenc@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Jen Perez Assistant 7th Grade Volleyball Coach / Assistant Middle School Girls Track Coach / Assistant 7th Grade Girls Track Coach perezj@urbandaleschools.com
Chad Towers Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach / Assistant MS Wrestling Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach 515-205-2423 chad.towers@dmschools.org

Volleyball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Liz Baethke Head Volleyball Coach 515-457-6957 baethkel@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Courtney Strutt Todd Volunteer Volleyball Coach 515-402-3945 courtneystrutttodd@davisbrownlaw.com
Heather Mills Volunteer Volleyball Coach 319-404-7590 heather.m.mills@wellsfargo.com
Carlee DeGraaf Head JV Volleyball Coach 641-780-0120 carleedegraaf@gmail.com
Alisa Heemskerk Head 10th Grade Volleyball Coach 319-239-6043 roth.alisa@gmail.com
Whitney Mann Assistant 9th Grade Volleyball Coach 515-201-3308 sibleywhitney2013@gmail.com

Middle School Volleyball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Paula Kohls Head 8th Volleyball Coach pdkohls@q.com
Karen Mann Assistant 8th Volleyball Coach/Assistant Girls Tennis Coach wolf101km@hotmail.com
Ashley Danner Head 7th Volleyball Coach/Assistant 8th Grade Girls Track Coach 515-457-6607 dannera@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Jen Perez Assistant 7th Grade Volleyball Coach / Assistant Middle School Girls Track Coach / Assistant 7th Grade Girls Track Coach perezj@urbandaleschools.com

High School Vocal Directors

Name Title Phone Email
Ted Brimeyer Head Vocal Director 515-457-6872 brimeyert@urbandaleschools.com
Alice O'Connor Assistant High School Vocal Director/Head Middle School Vocal Director 515-457-6873 oconnora@urbandale.ia.us

Middle School Vocal Directors

Name Title Phone Email
Alice O'Connor Assistant High School Vocal Director/Head Middle School Vocal Director 515-457-6873 oconnora@urbandale.ia.us

High School Wrestling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Mark Klaus Head Wrestling Coach/Head 9th Grade Football Coach 515-457-6984 klausm@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Mike Moreno Head 7th Grade Football Coach / Assistant HS Wrestling Coach 515-457-6961 morenom@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Josh South Assistant Wrestling Coach
Rex Gray Assistant Wrestling Coach 515-577-1991 grayr17489@gmail.com

Middle School Wrestling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Chris Christensen Head Middle School Wrestling Coach/Head 7th Grade Football Coach/Head 7th Grade Girls Track Coach 515-457-6682 christensenc@urbandale.k12.ia.us
Brian Klaus Assistant MS Wrestling Coach 515-707-8452 bklaus189@yahoo.com
Chad Towers Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach / Assistant MS Wrestling Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach 515-205-2423 chad.towers@dmschools.org
Michael Lewis Assistant 7th Grade Football Coach / Assistant MS Wrestling Coach lewism@urbandale.k12.ia.us