Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


Mailing Address:

Urbandale Activities Department

7111 Aurora Avenue

Urbandale, IA 50322


Phone:  515-457-6945

Fax: See Note

Activities Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
William Watson
Director of Activities and Community Education
515-457-6947 william.watson@j-hawks.com
Joe Blazevich
Middle School Dean of Students/Activities Coordinator
515-457-6643 blazevichj@urbandaleschools.com
Andy Hoverson
Associate Athletic Director
515-457-6943 andy.hoverson@j-hawks.com
Andrew Olson
Stadium Manager
515-457-6937 andrew.olson@j-hawks.com
Pete Traynor
Director of Strength and Conditioning / Assistant Boys Track Coach
pete.traynor@j-hawks.com

High School Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tim Carver
High School Principal
515-457-6803 carvert@urbandaleschools.com
Dania Wilson
Associate High School Principal
515-457-6802 wilsond@urbandaleschools.com
Derek Wilkins
High School Dean of Students (A-K)
515-457-6815 wilkinsd@urbandaleschools.com
Casey Goodhue
High School Dean of Students (L-Z)
515-457-6803 goodhuec@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jeremy Braden
Middle School Principal
515-457-6791 bradenj@urbandaleschools.com
Jennifer Silvay
Middle School Associate Principal
515-457-6602 silvayj@urbandaleschools.com
Joe Blazevich
Middle School Dean of Students/Activities Coordinator
515-457-6643 blazevichj@urbandaleschools.com

Athletic Trainer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Zach McEntee
Athletic Trainer
515-457-6750 zach.mcentee@j-hawks.com

High School Band Directors

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Louis Dupuis
Head Band Director
515-457-6972 dupuisl@urbandaleschools.com
Thomas Doggett
Assistant Band Director
doggettt@urbandaleschools.com
Dana Andrews
Assistant Band Director

Middle School Band Directors

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Nancy Schultz
Middle School Band Director
515-457-6641 schultzn@urbandaleschools.com
Daphne Monson
Middle School Band Director
515-457-6645 monsond@urbandaleschools.com

Baseball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jeremy Heinen
Head Baseball Coach
515-457-6953 heinenj@urbandaleschools.com
Chad Barnes
Assistant Varsity Baseball Coach
515-633-5602 barnesc@urbandaleschools.com
Mick Delaney
Assistant Varsity Baseball Coach
Ty Sharon
Head 10th Baseball Coach / Assistant Girls Basketball Coach
sharont@urbandaleschools.com
Troy Troncin
Assistant 10th Grade Baseball Coach
Corey Brown
Assistant MS Cross Country Coach / Head 8th Boys Basketball Coach / Head 9th Grade Baseball Coach
515-457-6681 brownc@urbandaleschools.com
DJ Duve
Assistant 9th Grade Baseball Coach

High School Boys Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jon Schmitz
Head Boys Basketball Coach / Assistant 7th Boys Track Coach
515-457-6893 schmitzj@urbandaleschools.com
Jon Hardersen
Assistant Boys Basketball Coach
Mark Bishop
Assistant Boys Basketball Coach
Joey Aguirre
10th Boys Basketball Coach
Joe Muldoon
Assistant 9th Football Coach / 9th Boys Basketball Coach
muldoonj@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Boys Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Corey Brown
Assistant MS Cross Country Coach / Head 8th Boys Basketball Coach / Head 9th Grade Baseball Coach
515-457-6681 brownc@urbandaleschools.com
John Nagel
MS Boys Basketball Coach / Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach
Lindsey Bakker
Assistant MS Boys Basketball Coach
515-457-6618 bakkerl@urbandaleschools.com
Devon Mau
Assistant 8th Football Coach / Assistant MS Boys Basketball Coach
maud@urbandaleschools.com

High School Girls Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Whitney Lawler
Head Girls Basketball Coach
Mark Baethke
Assistant Girls Basketball Coach
515-457-6840 baethkem@urbandaleschools.com
Kevin Klein
Assistant Girls Basketball Coach
Danielle Breon
Assistant Girls Basketball Coach
breond@urbandaleschools.com
Ty Sharon
Head 10th Baseball Coach / Assistant Girls Basketball Coach
sharont@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Girls Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ellen Gallagher
Head 7th Volleyball Coach / Head 8th Girls Basketball Coach / Assistant Softball Coach
gallaghere@urbandaleschools.com
Steve Richardson
Assistant 8th Girls Basketball Coach

Boys Bowling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Gretta Richardson
Head Bowling Coach
515-371-4456 richardsong@urbandaleschools.com
Dan Davis
Assistant Bowling Coach
515-457-6885 davisd@urbandaleschools.com
Sam Anderson
Head Varsity Football Coach / Assistant Bowling Coach
515-457-6839 andersons@urbandaleschools.com

Girls Bowling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Gretta Richardson
Head Bowling Coach
515-371-4456 richardsong@urbandaleschools.com
Dan Davis
Assistant Bowling Coach
515-457-6885 davisd@urbandaleschools.com
Sam Anderson
Head Varsity Football Coach / Assistant Bowling Coach
515-457-6839 andersons@urbandaleschools.com

High School Cheerleading Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kali Brinker
Head Cheerleading Coach
brinkerk@urbandaleschools.com
Morgan Bruggeman
Assistant Cheer Coach
bruggemanm@urbandaleschools.com
Rebecca Hempe
Assistant Cheer Coach

Middle School Cheerleading Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail

High School Boys Cross Country Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Lee Hammerand
Head Boys Cross Country Coach / Head Boys Track Coach
515-457-6901 hammerandl@urbandaleschools.com
Jeff Sand
Assistant Wrestling Coach / Assistant Boys Cross Country Coach / Head 8th Boys Track Coach
sandj@urbandaleschools.com

High School Girls Cross Country Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
David Roney
Head Girls Cross Country Coach

Middle School Girls Cross Country Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dave White
Head Girls Tennis Coach/Head MS Cross Country Coach
515-457-6832 whited@urbandaleschools.com
Corey Brown
Assistant MS Cross Country Coach / Head 8th Boys Basketball Coach / Head 9th Grade Baseball Coach
515-457-6681 brownc@urbandaleschools.com
Ashley Danner Dove
Head 8th Girls Track Coach / Assistant MS Cross Country Coach
515-457-6607 dannera@urbandaleschools.com

Drama Directors

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Shaun Knapp
Drama Director
515-782-0260 knapps@urbandaleschools.com
Jessica Vaught
Speech Coach
515-457-6945 jessica.vaught@j-hawks.com
Gavin Gallegos
Assistant Drama Director

High School Football Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Sam Anderson
Head Varsity Football Coach / Assistant Bowling Coach
515-457-6839 andersons@urbandaleschools.com
Tyler Perry
Assistant Varsity Football Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach
perryt@urbandaleschools.com
Paul Peletz
Assistant HS Football Coach
peletzp@urbandaleschools.com
Ryan Williams
Assistant HS Football Coach / Head 7th Boys Track Coach
515-457-6654 williamsr@urbandaleschools.com
Joel Jacobs
Assistant Football Coach / Assistant Boys Track Coach
515-457-6793 jacobsj1@urbandaleschools.com
DaShawn Cason
Assistant Football Coach
Tyler Motter
Assistant Football Coach
515-490-6900 mottert@urbandaleschools.com
Steve Dannenfeldt
Head JV Football Coach
dannenfeldts@urbandaleschools.com
Tyler Ahrens
Assistant JV Football Coach / Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach
ahrenst@urbandaleschools.com
Ramel Lane
Assistant JV Football Coach / Assistant 7th Boys Track Coach
Tony Perez
Head 9th Football Coach
perezt@urbandaleschools.com
Shawn Llewellyn
Assistant 9th Football Coach
515-306-1767 llewellyns@urbandaleschools.com
Joe Muldoon
Assistant 9th Football Coach / 9th Boys Basketball Coach
muldoonj@urbandaleschools.com
Tanner Jansen
Assistant 9th Football Coach

Middle School Football Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ben Lighter
Head 8th Football Coach
lighterb@urbandaleschools.com
Bill Peterson
Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach / 9th Girls Basketball Coach
563-593-1080 petersonb@urbandaleschools.com
Devon Mau
Assistant 8th Football Coach / Assistant MS Boys Basketball Coach
maud@urbandaleschools.com
Rex Gray
Assistant Wrestling Coach / Assistant 8th Football Coach
515-559-4571 grayr@urbandaleschools.com
Chris Christensen
Head MS Wrestling Coach / Head 7th Football Coach / Head 7th Girls Track Coach
515-457-6682 christensenc@urbandaleschools.com
Mike Moreno
Head Wrestling Coach / Head 7th Grade Football Coach / Assistant Girls Tennis Coach
515-457-6961 morenom@urbandaleschools.com
Chad Towers
Assistant 8th Football Coach / Assistant MS Wrestling Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach
515-205-2423 towersc@urbandaleschools.com
Alex Borman
Assistant 7th Football Coach

Boys Golf Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Pat Henkenius
Head Boys & Girls Golf Coach
515-457-6979 henkeniusp@urbandaleschools.com
Nick Ahlquist
Assistant Boys Golf Coach
ahlquistn@urbandaleschools.com

Girls Golf Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Pat Henkenius
Head Boys & Girls Golf Coach
515-457-6979 henkeniusp@urbandaleschools.com
Kory Stevens
Assistant Girls Golf Coach

Jaywalker Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ashley Fisher
Co-Head Jaywalker Coach
fishera@urbandaleschools.com
Courtney Nikkel
Co-Head Jaywalker Coach
Jerri Ann Longlet
Assistant Jaywalkers Coach
longletj@urbandaleschools.com

Boys Soccer Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jack Arndt
Assistant Boys Soccer Coach
Bryson Amato
JV2 Boys Soccer Coach
515-480-6998 amatob@urbandaleschools.com
Alex Rich
Assistant Boys Soccer Coach
richa@urbandaleschools.com

Girls Soccer Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jason Eckhoff
Head Girls Soccer Coach
eckhoffj@urbandaleschools.com
Jessica Shwery
Assistant Girls Soccer Coach
515-669-6311 shweryj@urbandaleschools.com
Bonnie Larson
Assistant Girls Soccer Coach
515-255-6559 larsonb1@urbandaleschools.com
Abby Cozzoni
Assistant Girls Soccer Coach

Softball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Nick McCool
Head Softball Coach
641-740-1442 mccooln@urbandaleschools.com
Emily Rottinghaus
Assistant Softball Coach
Ellen Gallagher
Head 7th Volleyball Coach / Head 8th Girls Basketball Coach / Assistant Softball Coach
gallaghere@urbandaleschools.com
Kayla Vermedahl
Assistant 8th Girls Track Coach / Assistant Softball Coach
vermedahlk@urbandaleschools.com

Boys Tennis Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tim Pearson
Head Boys Tennis Coach
tim.pearson@mchsi.com
Steve Harper
Assistant Boys Tennis Coach
515-240-4543 harpers@urbandaleschools.com

Girls Tennis Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dave White
Head Girls Tennis Coach/Head MS Cross Country Coach
515-457-6832 whited@urbandaleschools.com
Zach Maertens
Assistant Girls Tennis Coach
515-457-5727 maertensz@urbandaleschools.com
Mike Moreno
Head Wrestling Coach / Head 7th Grade Football Coach / Assistant Girls Tennis Coach
515-457-6961 morenom@urbandaleschools.com

High School Boys Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Lee Hammerand
Head Boys Cross Country Coach / Head Boys Track Coach
515-457-6901 hammerandl@urbandaleschools.com
Gary Birdwell
Assistant Boys Track Coach
515-457-6976 birdwellg@urbandaleschools.com
Tyler Perry
Assistant Varsity Football Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach
perryt@urbandaleschools.com
Joel Jacobs
Assistant Football Coach / Assistant Boys Track Coach
515-457-6793 jacobsj1@urbandaleschools.com
Pete Traynor
Director of Strength and Conditioning / Assistant Boys Track Coach
pete.traynor@j-hawks.com

Middle School Boys Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jeff Sand
Assistant Wrestling Coach / Assistant Boys Cross Country Coach / Head 8th Boys Track Coach
sandj@urbandaleschools.com
Tyler Ahrens
Assistant JV Football Coach / Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach
ahrenst@urbandaleschools.com
John Nagel
MS Boys Basketball Coach / Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach
Ryan Williams
Assistant HS Football Coach / Head 7th Boys Track Coach
515-457-6654 williamsr@urbandaleschools.com
Jon Schmitz
Head Boys Basketball Coach / Assistant 7th Boys Track Coach
515-457-6893 schmitzj@urbandaleschools.com
Ramel Lane
Assistant JV Football Coach / Assistant 7th Boys Track Coach

High School Girls Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Deidra Meyer
Assistant Girls Track Coach
dirthd@urbandaleschools.com
Tasha Johnson
Assistant 10th Volleyball Coach / Assistant Girls Track Coach

Middle School Girls Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ashley Danner Dove
Head 8th Girls Track Coach / Assistant MS Cross Country Coach
515-457-6607 dannera@urbandaleschools.com
Kayla Vermedahl
Assistant 8th Girls Track Coach / Assistant Softball Coach
vermedahlk@urbandaleschools.com
Chris Sanford
Assistant Middle School Wrestling Coach / Assistant 8th Girls Track Coach
Chris Christensen
Head MS Wrestling Coach / Head 7th Football Coach / Head 7th Girls Track Coach
515-457-6682 christensenc@urbandaleschools.com
Chad Towers
Assistant 8th Football Coach / Assistant MS Wrestling Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach
515-205-2423 towersc@urbandaleschools.com
Daryl Batt
Assistant 7th Volleyball Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach

High School Volleyball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Liz Baethke
Head Volleyball Coach
515-457-6957 baethkee@urbandaleschools.com
Amy Hobert
Assistant Varsity Volleyball Coach
hoberta@urbandaleschools.com
Tasha Johnson
Assistant 10th Volleyball Coach / Assistant Girls Track Coach
Chris Koepplin
9th Volleyball Coach
koepplinc@urbandaleschools.com
Taylor Damewood
Assistant 9th Volleyball Coach

Middle School Volleyball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Christy Reeves Peletz
Head 8th Volleyball Coach
501-804-4352 reevesc@urbandaleschools.com
Sydney Dunphy
Assistant 8th Volleyball Coach
Ellen Gallagher
Head 7th Volleyball Coach / Head 8th Girls Basketball Coach / Assistant Softball Coach
gallaghere@urbandaleschools.com
Deann Pair
Assistant 7th Grade Volleyball Coach
paird@urbandaleschools.com
Daryl Batt
Assistant 7th Volleyball Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach

High School Vocal Directors

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ted Brimeyer
Director of Choirs
515-457-6872 brimeyert@urbandaleschools.com
Jon Edgeton
Associate Director of Choirs
edgetonj@urbandaleschools.com
Chris Conner
Associate Director of Choirs
connerc@urbandaleschools.com
Jeff Temple
Assistant Show Choir Director and Accompanist
templej@urbandaleschools.com
Katie Sullivan
Show Choir Choreography Assistant
sullivank@urbandaleschools.com
Jenna Connolly
Show Choir Choreography Assistant
connollyj@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Vocal Directors

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Chris Conner
Associate Director of Choirs
connerc@urbandaleschools.com
Jon Edgeton
Associate Director of Choirs
edgetonj@urbandaleschools.com

High School Wrestling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Moreno
Head Wrestling Coach / Head 7th Grade Football Coach / Assistant Girls Tennis Coach
515-457-6961 morenom@urbandaleschools.com
Bryce Boehm
Assistant Wrestling Coach
boehmb@urbandaleschools.com
Rex Gray
Assistant Wrestling Coach / Assistant 8th Football Coach
515-559-4571 grayr@urbandaleschools.com
Jeff Sand
Assistant Wrestling Coach / Assistant Boys Cross Country Coach / Head 8th Boys Track Coach
sandj@urbandaleschools.com
Josh South
Assistant Wrestling Coach
southj@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Wrestling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Chris Christensen
Head MS Wrestling Coach / Head 7th Football Coach / Head 7th Girls Track Coach
515-457-6682 christensenc@urbandaleschools.com
Chad Towers
Assistant 8th Football Coach / Assistant MS Wrestling Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach
515-205-2423 towersc@urbandaleschools.com
Chris Sanford
Assistant Middle School Wrestling Coach / Assistant 8th Girls Track Coach
Ty Weatherman
Assistant Middle School Wrestling Coach