Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


Mailing Address:

Urbandale Activities Department

7111 Aurora Avenue

Urbandale, IA 50322


Phone:  515-457-6945

Fax: 515-457-6949

Activities Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
William Watson
Director of Activities and Community Education
515-457-6947 william.watson@j-hawks.com
Josh Jacobs
Associate Athletic Director
515-457-6946 josh.jacobs@j-hawks.com
Andrew Olson
Activities Assistant
515-457-6945 andrew.olson@j-hawks.com
Andy Hoverson
Stadium / PAC Manager
515-457-6943 andy.hoverson@j-hawks.com
Pete Traynor
Director of Strength and Conditioning
pete.traynor@j-hawks.com

High School Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tim Carver
High School Principal
515-457-6803 carvert@urbandaleschools.com
Dania Wilson
Associate High School Principal
515-457-6802 wilsond@urbandaleschools.com
Derek Wilkins
Student Support Specialist
515-457-6815 wilkinsd@urbandaleschools.com
Kristi Powers
Student Support Specialist
515-457-6803 powersk@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Loren DeKruyf
Middle School Principal
515-457-6600 dekruyfl@urbandaleschools.com
Jennifer Silvay
Middle School Associate Principal
515-457-6602 silvayj@urbandaleschools.com

Athletic Trainer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Scott Fleagle
Athletic Trainer
515-457-6750 scott.fleagle@j-hawks.com

High School Band Directors

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Myron Peterson
Head Band Director
515-457-6871 petersonm@urbandaleschools.com
Thomas Doggett
Assistant Band Director
doggettt@urbandaleschools.com
Louis DuPuis
Assistant Band Director
515-457-6972 dupuisl@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Band Directors

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Nancy Schultz
Middle School Band Director
515-457-6641 schultzn@urbandaleschools.com
Daphne Monson
Middle School Band Director
515-457-6645 monsond@urbandaleschools.com

Baseball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jeremy Heinen
Head Baseball Coach
515-457-6953 heinenj@urbandaleschools.com
Chad Barnes
Assistant Varsity Baseball Coach
515-633-5602 barnesc@urbandaleschools.com
Mick Delaney
Assistant Baseball Coach
Troy Troncin
Volunteer Baseball Coach
Joel Jacobs
Assistant Football Coach / Head 10th Baseball Coach
515-457-6793 jacobsj1@urbandaleschools.com
Corey Brown
Assistant MS Cross Country Coach / Assistant 8th Boys Basketball Coach / Head 9th Grade Baseball Coach
515-457-6681 brownc@urbandaleschools.com
Ty Sharon
Assistant 9th Baseball Coach / Head MS Girls Basketball Coach / Assistant MS Boys Basketball Coach
sharont@urbandaleschools.com

High School Boys Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jon Schmitz
Head Boys Basketball Coach / Assistant 7th Boys Track Coach
515-457-6893 schmitzj@urbandaleschools.com
Gabe Peasley
Assistant Varsity Boys Basketball Coach
515-457-6674 peasleyg@urbandaleschools.com
Pat Henkenius
Head Boys & Girls Golf Coach / Head 10th Boys Basketball Coach
515-457-6979 henkeniusp@urbandaleschools.com
Matt Ellis
Assistant 10th Boys Basketball Coach
Tony Perez
Head 9th Football Coach / Assistant 9th Grade Boys Basketball Coach
perezt@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Boys Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mark Baethke
Head 10th Grade Football Coach / Head 8th Grade Boys Basketball Coach
515-457-6840 baethkem@urbandaleschools.com
Corey Brown
Assistant MS Cross Country Coach / Assistant 8th Boys Basketball Coach / Head 9th Grade Baseball Coach
515-457-6681 brownc@urbandaleschools.com
Devon Mau
Assistant 9th Football Coach / Assistant MS Basketball Coach / Head 7th Grade Boys Track Coach
maud@urbandaleschools.com
Ty Sharon
Assistant 9th Baseball Coach / Head MS Girls Basketball Coach / Assistant MS Boys Basketball Coach
sharont@urbandaleschools.com

High School Girls Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kenton Tennal
Head Girls Basketball Coach / Assistant 8th Volleyball Coach
tennalk@urbandaleschools.com
Steph Kingery
JV Girls Basketball Coach / Assistant 8th Grade Girls Track Coach
515-457-6923 kingerys@urbandaleschools.com
Charmaine Bell
Assistant Girls Basketball Coach
Danielle Breon
Assistant Girls Basketball Coach
breond@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Girls Basketball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ty Sharon
Assistant 9th Baseball Coach / Head MS Girls Basketball Coach / Assistant MS Boys Basketball Coach
sharont@urbandaleschools.com
Devon Mau
Assistant 9th Football Coach / Assistant MS Basketball Coach / Head 7th Grade Boys Track Coach
maud@urbandaleschools.com

Boys Bowling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Gretta Richardson
Head Bowling Coach
515-371-4456 richardsong@urbandaleschools.com
Dan Davis
Head Girls Cross Country Coach / Assistant Girls Track Coach / Assistant Bowling Coach
515-457-6885 davisd@urbandaleschools.com
Sam Anderson
Head Varsity Football Coach / Assistant Bowling Coach
515-457-6839 andersons@urbandaleschools.com

Girls Bowling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Gretta Richardson
Head Bowling Coach
515-371-4456 richardsong@urbandaleschools.com
Dan Davis
Head Girls Cross Country Coach / Assistant Girls Track Coach / Assistant Bowling Coach
515-457-6885 davisd@urbandaleschools.com
Sam Anderson
Head Varsity Football Coach / Assistant Bowling Coach
515-457-6839 andersons@urbandaleschools.com

Cheerleading Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kali Brinker
Head Cheerleading Coach
brinkerk@urbandaleschools.com
Jenalee Tilton
Assistant Cheer Coach
Morgan Bruggeman
Assistant Cheer Coach
bruggemanm@urbandaleschools.com
Kayla Konidas
Sparkle Coach
konidask@urbandaleschools.com

High School Boys Cross Country Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Lee Hammerand
Head Boys Cross Country Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach
515-457-6901 hammerandl@urbandaleschools.com
Jeff Sand
Assistant Wrestling Coach / Assistant Cross Country Coach
sandj@urbandaleschools.com

High School Girls Cross Country Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dan Davis
Head Girls Cross Country Coach / Assistant Girls Track Coach / Assistant Bowling Coach
515-457-6885 davisd@urbandaleschools.com
Jeff Sand
Assistant Wrestling Coach / Assistant Cross Country Coach
sandj@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Girls Cross Country Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dave White
Head Girls Tennis Coach/Head MS Cross Country Coach
515-457-6832 whited@urbandaleschools.com
Corey Brown
Assistant MS Cross Country Coach / Assistant 8th Boys Basketball Coach / Head 9th Grade Baseball Coach
515-457-6681 brownc@urbandaleschools.com
Deb Perry
Assistant MS Cross Country Coach
perryd@urbandaleschools.com

Drama Directors

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Shaun Knapp
Drama Director
515-782-0260 knapps@urbandaleschools.com
Jessica Vaught
Speech Coach
515-457-6945 jessica.vaught@j-hawks.com
Gavin Gallegos
Assistant Drama Director
Lauren Vickers
Assistant Director
vickersl@urbandaleschools.com

High School Football Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Sam Anderson
Head Varsity Football Coach / Assistant Bowling Coach
515-457-6839 andersons@urbandaleschools.com
Tim TeBrink
Head Boys Track Coach/Assistant Varsity Football Coach
515-457-6657 tebrinkt@urbandaleschools.com
Tyler Perry
Assistant Varsity Football Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach
perryt@urbandaleschools.com
Paul Peletz
Assistant HS Football Coach
peletzp@urbandaleschools.com
Ryan Williams
Assistant HS Football Coach
515-457-6654 williamsr@urbandaleschools.com
Joel Jacobs
Assistant Football Coach / Head 10th Baseball Coach
515-457-6793 jacobsj1@urbandaleschools.com
Danny Triplett
Assistant Football Coach
515-657-1967 triplettd@urbandaleschools.com
Tyler Motter
Assistant Football Coach
515-490-6900 mottert@urbandaleschools.com
Steve Dannenfeldt
Volunteer Football Coach
dannenfeldts@urbandaleschools.com
Mark Baethke
Head 10th Grade Football Coach / Head 8th Grade Boys Basketball Coach
515-457-6840 baethkem@urbandaleschools.com
Tyler Ahrens
Assistant 10th Football Coach / Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach
ahrenst@urbandaleschools.com
Don Heinrich
Volunteer 10th Football Coach
Tony Perez
Head 9th Football Coach / Assistant 9th Grade Boys Basketball Coach
perezt@urbandaleschools.com
Shawn Llewellyn
Assistant 9th Football Coach
515-306-1767 llewellyns@urbandaleschools.com
Devon Mau
Assistant 9th Football Coach / Assistant MS Basketball Coach / Head 7th Grade Boys Track Coach
maud@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Football Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ben Lighter
Head 8th Football Coach / Head 8th Boys Track Coach
lighterb@urbandaleschools.com
Bill Peterson
Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach / 9th Girls Basketball Coach
563-593-1080 petersonb@urbandaleschools.com
Brett Finger
Assistant 8th Football Coach / Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach
fingerb@urbandaleschools.com
Chad Jamison
Assistant 8th Football Coach
Chris Christensen
Head Middle School Wrestling Coach/Head 7th Grade Football Coach/Head 7th Grade Girls Track Coach
515-457-6682 christensenc@urbandaleschools.com
Mike Moreno
Head Wrestling Coach / Head 7th Grade Football Coach / Assistant Girls Tennis Coach
515-457-6961 morenom@urbandaleschools.com
Chad Towers
Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach / Assistant MS Wrestling Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach
515-205-2423 towersc@urbandaleschools.com
Jacob Duncalf
MS Wrestling Coach / 7th Grade Football Coach
duncalfj@urbandaleschools.com

Boys Golf Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Pat Henkenius
Head Boys & Girls Golf Coach / Head 10th Boys Basketball Coach
515-457-6979 henkeniusp@urbandaleschools.com
Monty Willyard
Assistant Varsity Boys Basketball Coach/9th Boys Golf Coach
515-457-6863 willyardm@urbandaleschools.com

Girls Golf Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Pat Henkenius
Head Boys & Girls Golf Coach / Head 10th Boys Basketball Coach
515-457-6979 henkeniusp@urbandaleschools.com

Jaywalker Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Amanda Smith
Head Jaywalker Coach
smitha@urbandaleschools.com
Ashley Fisher
Assistant Jaywalker Coach
Courtney Nikkel
Assistant Jaywalker Coach

Boys Soccer Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jimmy Frizzell
Head Boys Soccer Coach
frizzellj@urbandaleschools.com
Jaryd White
Assistant Boys Soccer Coach
whitej@urbandaleschools.com
Bryan Michelsen
Assistant Boys Soccer Coach
michelsenb@urbandaleschools.com
Bryson Amato
9th Boys Soccer Coach
515-480-6998 amatob@urbandaleschools.com
Alex Rich
Volunteer Assistant Boys Soccer Coach
richa@urbandaleschools.com

Girls Soccer Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jason Eckhoff
Head Girls Soccer Coach
eckhoffj@urbandaleschools.com
Jessica Shwery
Assistant Girls Soccer Coach
515-669-6311 shweryj@urbandaleschools.com
Bonnie Larson
Assistant Girls Soccer Coach
515-255-6559 larsonb1@urbandaleschools.com

Softball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Nick McCool
Head Softball Coach
641-740-1442 mccooln@urbandaleschools.com
Emily Rottinghaus
Assistant Softball Coach
Megan Sowa
JV Softball Coach
sowam@urbandaleschools.com

Boys Tennis Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Alan Reed
Head Boys Tennis Coach
515-556-5217 reeda@urbandaleschools.com
Steve Harper
Assistant Boys Tennis Coach
515-240-4543 harpers@urbandaleschools.com

Girls Tennis Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dave White
Head Girls Tennis Coach/Head MS Cross Country Coach
515-457-6832 whited@urbandaleschools.com
Zach Maertens
Assistant Girls Tennis Coach
515-457-5727 maertensz@urbandaleschools.com
Mike Moreno
Head Wrestling Coach / Head 7th Grade Football Coach / Assistant Girls Tennis Coach
515-457-6961 morenom@urbandaleschools.com
Kirk Trow
Volunteer Girls Tennis Coach
trowk@urbandaleschools.com

High School Boys Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tim TeBrink
Head Boys Track Coach/Assistant Varsity Football Coach
515-457-6657 tebrinkt@urbandaleschools.com
Gary Birdwell
Assistant Boys Track Coach
515-457-6976 birdwellg@urbandaleschools.com
Tyler Perry
Assistant Varsity Football Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach
perryt@urbandaleschools.com
Lee Hammerand
Head Boys Cross Country Coach/Assistant Boys Track Coach
515-457-6901 hammerandl@urbandaleschools.com
Nick Pearson
Assistant HS Boys Track Coach
pearsonn@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Boys Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ben Lighter
Head 8th Football Coach / Head 8th Boys Track Coach
lighterb@urbandaleschools.com
Tyler Ahrens
Assistant 10th Football Coach / Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach
ahrenst@urbandaleschools.com
Brett Finger
Assistant 8th Football Coach / Assistant 8th Boys Track Coach
fingerb@urbandaleschools.com
Devon Mau
Assistant 9th Football Coach / Assistant MS Basketball Coach / Head 7th Grade Boys Track Coach
maud@urbandaleschools.com
Jon Schmitz
Head Boys Basketball Coach / Assistant 7th Boys Track Coach
515-457-6893 schmitzj@urbandaleschools.com

High School Girls Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Brooke Schupbach
Head Girls Track Coach
schupbachb@urbandaleschools.com
Deidra Dirth
Assistant Girls Track Coach
dirthd@urbandaleschools.com
Mike Mackin
Assistant Girls Track Coach
641-430-1666 mackinm@urbandaleschools.com
Daianera Whitaker
Assistant High School Girls Track Coach
Mikayla Overturf
JV Volleyball Coach / Assistant Girls Track Coach
overturfm@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Girls Track & Field Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ashley Danner Dove
Head 7th Volleyball Coach / Head 8th Grade Girls Track Coach
515-457-6607 dannera@urbandaleschools.com
Steph Kingery
JV Girls Basketball Coach / Assistant 8th Grade Girls Track Coach
515-457-6923 kingerys@urbandaleschools.com
Chris Christensen
Head Middle School Wrestling Coach/Head 7th Grade Football Coach/Head 7th Grade Girls Track Coach
515-457-6682 christensenc@urbandaleschools.com
Jen Perez
Assistant 7th Volleyball Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach
515-240-4582 perezj@urbandaleschools.com
Chad Towers
Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach / Assistant MS Wrestling Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach
515-205-2423 towersc@urbandaleschools.com

High School Volleyball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Liz Baethke
Head Volleyball Coach
515-457-6957 baethkee@urbandaleschools.com
Amy Hobert
Assistant Varsity Volleyball Coach
hoberta@urbandaleschools.com
Mikayla Overturf
JV Volleyball Coach / Assistant Girls Track Coach
overturfm@urbandaleschools.com
Whitney Sibley
10th Grade Volleyball Coach
Chris Koepplin
9th Volleyball Coach
koepplinc@urbandaleschools.com
Jessica Lavicky
Assistant 9th Volleyball Coach
lavickyj@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Volleyball Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Christy Reeves Peletz
Head 8th Volleyball Coach
501-804-4352 reevesc@urbandaleschools.com
Kenton Tennal
Head Girls Basketball Coach / Assistant 8th Volleyball Coach
tennalk@urbandaleschools.com
Ashley Danner Dove
Head 7th Volleyball Coach / Head 8th Grade Girls Track Coach
515-457-6607 dannera@urbandaleschools.com
Jen Perez
Assistant 7th Volleyball Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach
515-240-4582 perezj@urbandaleschools.com

High School Vocal Directors

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ted Brimeyer
Director of Choirs
515-457-6872 brimeyert@urbandaleschools.com
Jon Edgeton
Associate Director of Choirs
edgetonj@urbandaleschools.com
Chris Conner
Associate Director of Choirs
connerc@urbandaleschools.com
Jeff Temple
Assistant Show Choir Director and Accompanist
templej@urbandaleschools.com
Katie Sullivan
Show Choir Choreography Assistant
sullivank@urbandaleschools.com
Jenna Connolly
Show Choir Choreography Assistant
connollyj@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Vocal Directors

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Chris Conner
Associate Director of Choirs
connerc@urbandaleschools.com
Jon Edgeton
Associate Director of Choirs
edgetonj@urbandaleschools.com

High School Wrestling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Moreno
Head Wrestling Coach / Head 7th Grade Football Coach / Assistant Girls Tennis Coach
515-457-6961 morenom@urbandaleschools.com
Bryce Boehm
Assistant Wrestling Coach
boehmb@urbandaleschools.com
Rex Gray
Assistant Wrestling Coach
515-559-4571 grayr@urbandaleschools.com
Jeff Sand
Assistant Wrestling Coach / Assistant Cross Country Coach
sandj@urbandaleschools.com
Josh South
Assistant Wrestling Coach
southj@urbandaleschools.com

Middle School Wrestling Coaching Staff

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Chris Christensen
Head Middle School Wrestling Coach/Head 7th Grade Football Coach/Head 7th Grade Girls Track Coach
515-457-6682 christensenc@urbandaleschools.com
Chad Towers
Assistant 8th Grade Football Coach / Assistant MS Wrestling Coach / Assistant 7th Girls Track Coach
515-205-2423 towersc@urbandaleschools.com
Jacob Duncalf
MS Wrestling Coach / 7th Grade Football Coach
duncalfj@urbandaleschools.com